Needed a Little Motivation


I was starting to get bored with running all the time so subsequently I began to think of reasons not to run. I missed several runs and was thinking, “what have I gotten my self into?”

When an angel came in the form of an email.

The email was from DoLocalDeals.com and the subject line was “Deal Certificate for $20 for One Month of Unlimited CrossFit Classes at Empire Athletics from DoLocalDeals

I jumped on it! For those of you who don’t know what CrossFit is click here. In a nutshell it is a relatively short, super intense, dynamic work out that kicks all portions of your ass at once.

The gym I signed up with is called Empire Athletics, they are new and basically all they do is CrossFit as far as I can tell so far. Normally, CrossFit isn’t cheap, the unlimited package costs $110 per month. In case your interested, here’s what else they offer. Here’s their flickr feed so you can see some of the stuff they do and who does it.

I called them up and claimed my certificate. The first thing they do is run you through a “baseline” workout.

The Baseline= 500 Meter Row, 40 Air Squats, 30 Sit-Ups, 20 Push-Ups and 10 Pull-Ups as fast as you can. (Holy ____!, right?) Well, I came in just under 10 minutes at 9:53. I was told by another CrossFit trainer that I know that “under 10 is not bad”. So there’s that.

After I finished my workout, I laid on the ground for approximately 15 minutes and then almost passed out when I got up. That was on Friday.

Monday, I went back and completed the workout with out passing out but it was still hard as hell.

So here’s the new training plan.

Monday= CrossFit

Tuesday= Tempo Run

Wednesday= Rest

Thursday= Run

Friday= CrossFit

Saturday= Long Run

Sunday= Rest

We’ll see how this goes, but the first week in I’m more motivated to not only exercise but also eat better. I actually turned down ice cream while watching the Biggest Loser last night.

Blessings,
Greg

[photo: Dain Sandoval

About ggbolt16

PC (USA) pastor, husband, father to one girl and one boy, friend, Presbyterian, Mountaineer, Christian, athlete, theologian, buttface, home brewer
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

